Host uses all the ram assing on VM's

Hi,
I wanna know if this is normal or its a config issue.
I have my host with a memory usage equivalent to all the ram that the VM's has, but, the VM's aint consuming that much of memory.
Both VM's are running Windows Server 2016 with all the VirtIO drivers correctly installed and services running (qemu, balloon)
Host Usage:

VM's Usage (both VM's are equals):

VM's HW config (both VM's are equals):

Forgot this:

Any tip on what to do? Thanks!
PD: Promise is my last support topic :p :'(

Comments

• MaxKVMMaxKVM Hosting Provider
    edited July 2020

This looks completely normal to me, though I am not an expert on proxmox. Do you have fixed or dynamic memory allocation enabled?

In Proxmox, we can set fixed or dynamic memory for a VM. Automatic range is also known as memory ballooning. For the fixed option, all memory is allocated at once. In the dynamic option, memory is allocated based on the VM, within a preset range. Automatic memory allocation works great for Linux-based guest VMs. But for Windows VMs, memory ballooning consumes a higher amount of CPU resources, causing the VM to slow down. So for windows VMs, it is best to use fixed memory whenever possible.

Thanked by (1)kind
  • @MaxKVM said:
    This looks completely normal to me, though I am not an expert on proxmox. Do you have fixed or dynamic memory allocation enabled?

In Proxmox, we can set fixed or dynamic memory for a VM. Automatic range is also known as memory ballooning. For the fixed option, all memory is allocated at once. In the dynamic option, memory is allocated based on the VM, within a preset range. Automatic memory allocation works great for Linux-based guest VMs. But for Windows VMs, memory ballooning consumes a higher amount of CPU resources, causing the VM to slow down. So for windows VMs, it is best to use fixed memory whenever possible.