Any experience with M2 Nvme SSD drives?

YmpkerYmpker OGContent Writer
edited November 2021 in General

I have the B450-TUF-Gaming mainboard ( https://www.asus.com/Motherboards-Components/Motherboards/TUF-Gaming/TUF-B450-PLUS-GAMING/ ).
It is my understanding that I can use M2 Nvme SSD drives with that mainboard.

I have never used them before, but from previous SSD experience would look towards Samsung (Evo) and/or Crucial.

I just found the Crucial P2 CT1000P2SSD8 1TB on Amazon for 93€. Maybe it will even go down a bit more on BF. Does anyone have any experience with this particular drive, or can recommend others?

It's going to be used mostly for gaming related stuff.

Comments

• bikegremlinbikegremlin ModeratorOGContent Writer

I'm stupid, lazy and broke, so I'd go with the (probably the most expensive) Samsung. :)

From what I could gather, their NVMe drives are as reliable as their SSDs (had a lot of experience with those).

Life's too short to worry about crappy hardware. And it ends up being more costly in the long run.

Thanked by (1)Ympker

Relja of House Novović, the First of His Name, King of the Plains, the Breaker of Chains, WirMach Wolves pack member
    BikeGremlin's web-hosting reviews

• vyasvyas OG
    edited November 2021

The MoBo supports PCI express 3.0.
    Do look up Adata and Seagate.
    Kingston for LE compliance.
    I use the latter two in addition to Crucial
    Samsung is prem but if mobo does not support then you will get sub optimised performance

Thanked by (1)Ympker
  • cybertechcybertech OGBenchmark King

this MB supports NVMe Gen 3x4 which mainstream now.

samsung 970 evo should suffice.

Thanked by (1)bikegremlin

I bench YABS 24/7/365 unless it's a leap year.

• g4m3rg4m3r OG
    edited November 2021

I've had a QLC crucial drive once, it's terrible.
    If the SLC cache is full it's, in the base case, as fast as an HDD.