To what extent does TLD affect email delivery?

Curious if anyone has any insights on this - to what extent does your choice of TLD affect email delivery? For example, if I chose .eu versus say .pw, would I see better email deliver ability? If I chose a gTLD like .win over .xyz, would I see worse email deliverability?

Should I strictly only use .org/.com/.net/western country TLD for my emails?

Comments

• I'm no expert in this but I would have thought IP reputation along with DKIM/SPF/content all matter more than the domain itself.

Thanked by (1)reikuzan
  • @Mr_Tom said: I'm no expert in this but I would have thought IP reputation along with DKIM/SPF/content all matter more than the domain itself.

I've read a few articles advising sysadmins to refuse delivery to any .pw domain, which worries me a bit since I don't want my stuff to be caught in a filter somewhere.

• You mean your outgoing address? Spam filters use whatever probabilistic signals they can, and TLD is certainly one of them. Most mail coming from .biz is spam, so filters will weigh that in. You are probably best off with the traditional com/net/org or country codes that really do reflect where the sender is likely to be (.uk, .de etc. but not .pw).

Thanked by (2)Emmet saibal
  • It's a pricing game really.

As @willie pointed out, there are probabilistic actions at play. And spam filters adapt to these, based on the total number of spam being generated by the new TLDs.

Remember the gold rush when .info domains were less than a dollar for a while? It had turned to a point where even legit .info sites were spamboxing for no reason. This was because of the huge upsurge in spammers, churning out domain after domain to process the spam.

At this point, .pw is a dollar domain (And it was a spammer favorite back when it launched).

Now, I am not saying that your delivery depends entirely on your choice of extensions - DMARC (SPF/DKIM) + IP Reputation will go a long ways.