Brexit - what now? How about VAT?

MikePTMikePT Hosting ProviderOGServices Provider

So now that Brexit is happening tomorrow - do we still charge VAT? What about UK companies, can they charge VAT?

This is pretty confusing and I doubt our accountant knows.

@Clouvider maybe you can chime in or @AnthonySmith ?

Thanked by (1)vpsgeek

Comments

• @MikePT said: do we still charge VAT? What about

Yes, you charge VAT and you keep it.

• InceptionHostingInceptionHosting Hosting ProviderOG
    edited January 2020

While we leave tomorrow (for fucks sake) nothing actually changes for at least a year probably (almost certainly) longer while in the transition period, the UK is effectively out but agreeing to bide by all the rules and regs until Boris does his shit trade deal, sells the NHS (by was of indirect big pharma), fucks over the poor and makes the rich richer.

Can you tell how I voted :)

edit: For clarity I am not an expert I gave up a few months ago with all this nonsense, the thing about the UK people need to remember is that we put regulation in place to get billions from big business and have almost ZERO plan or resource to enforce any regulations on the little/medium/somewhat large folks.

Even now there is no dedicated vatmoss regulation haha.

Thanked by (3)beagle MikePT mfs

https://inceptionhosting.com
    Please do not use the PM system here for Inception Hosting support issues.

• until new rules (wich is not clear yet) you will function until now. Romanian case : we are obligated to charge vat to any company out of UE region except if have special agreement. So "teoretically" start from Tumorrow we need to colect vat also from UK ..

Thanked by (1)MikePT
  • @Janevski said: Yes, you charge VAT and you keep it.

yes and next year when you declare ... you will pay at least 3x more.

Thanked by (1)MikePT
  • You keep on reverse charging if it's a business you're trading with. For individuals things have yet to be defined.

Thanked by (1)MikePT