Good and bad disks

2»

Comments

• bikegremlinbikegremlin ModeratorOGContent Writer

@Falzo said:

@host_c said: On an IT forum, when we talk about interfaces, SAS / SATA, we refer to it as the product itself.

ah, thanks for clarifying that we do so. I am new to IT forums it seems...

@host_c said: Enterprise grade in SATA, lol, that would be the first, it is BS marketing.

so, how come vendors offer the exact same drive with the same technical specifications under the same product name and number in a SAS and SATA version?
    have an example: https://documents.westerndigital.com/content/dam/doc-library/en_us/assets/public/western-digital/product/data-center-drives/ultrastar-sata-series/data-sheet-ultrastar-7k4000.pdf

is this consumer grade SAS now or enterprise SATA? you have to decide now. sorry if that's a first for you (you as in we, the IT forum guys)

could this be due to the easiness of just slapping different PCBs on top of an otherwise identical block of alloy with a motor and some platters in it?
    or are you still claiming, that this won't be the exact same mechanical parts in this drive? and running it on SATA will cause worse reliability in terms of endurance? uh huh...

don't get me wrong. I am not denying that there is in fact a big difference in quality betwen certain types of drives. for sure there is, and that's why there are technical specification and warranties and stuff. also no offense meant, but please try stop talking this down to an interface as source of distinguishing truth. it simply isn't. we don't do that on IT forums. we rather stick to facts. ;-)

Fair points. Though I'd say that warranty is primarily a marketing tool and often has not much to do with durability and reliability.

Relja of House Novović, the First of His Name, King of the Plains, the Breaker of Chains, WirMach Wolves pack member
    BikeGremlin's web-hosting reviews