Looking for a VPS to setup as personal mail server

Pretty sure the title says it all. As I have never used VPS before (all the time dedis so far) I have no clue what the requirements would need to be and hopefully this kind community would help me out on that. However, disk space would need to be 10+ gb. Just to add it doesn't need to be nvme.

Comments

• @Rabbit said:
    Pretty sure the title says it all. As I have never used VPS before (all the time dedis so far) I have no clue what the requirements would need to be and hopefully this kind community would help me out on that. However, disk space would need to be 10+ gb. Just to add it doesn't need to be nvme.

Well, first and foremost requirement is you being ready to deal with spamlists and IP reputation.

• As mentioned, do some blackslist monitoring and keep an eye on your IP reputation. If it's just a personal mail server, then as long the range (/24 etc) doesn't end up on a list you should be fine.

Expect to have to deal with outlook (they seem to need a "new" IP to confirm itself via a process) and a few others but otherwise it's not quite as bad as people say. It's not easy, depends how much work you want to put in. I've ran a personal mail server for years.

Pick a good provider who doesn't tolerate bad things, as they're less likely to have any ranges get onto blacklists, but also double check they're happy for mail be used on their network. Some prefer to not have it, even if it's personal.

Thanked by (1)uptime
  • ionswitch_stanionswitch_stan OGRetired
    edited February 2020

We offer affordable VPS and allow SMTP from Seattle (not yet automated in Dallas). Feel free to reach out if you have any questions we can help with (customer, or not). Our VPS512 are fairly tiny, but I would be happy to extend our double disk offer, and our VPS1 are affordable.

Ionswitch.com | High Performance VPS in Seattle and Dallas since 2018

• @comi and @Mr_Tom Thank you for your kind suggestion and helpful hints.