How important is geographic location in hosting these days?

LeeLee OG
edited April 2021 in General

So an interesting discussion I have been having this morning.

How much value do you place on location when it comes to hosting websites?

For example, if your website was about a shop in the UK then it makes sense to host in the UK. You are less concerned with someone in Asia having speedy access.

But what if you chose a host that was in the Netherlands or Germany, would it make that much difference to speed for those in the UK or affect SEO that much?

Admittedly I am no expert but I don't think it would make that much difference these days. Put something like Cloudflare up-front and if you are using something like a .co.uk or a .uk then the likes of Google and other search engines will know where you are most likely targeting.

Views? I may be wrong, quite possible :)

Comments

• I'm no expert from an SEO point of view but unless it's the other side of the world then hosting in Europe for the UK has no noticeable slowdown in terms of speed. More likely to be effected by how well the website performs.

Thanked by (2)Lee Falzo
  • havochavoc OGContent Writer

UK to NL/DE you won't feel. It's in the ~10ms range.

Europe vs USA you'll definitely feel though.

For SEO purposes - I guess it depends on where the search index spider is located. To be honest I don't think it matters <100ms

Thanked by (1)Lee
  • ChievoChievo OG
    edited April 2021

@Lee said:
    So an interesting discussion I have been having this morning.

How much value do you place on location when it comes to hosting websites?

For example, if your website was about a shop in the UK then it makes sense to host in the UK. You are less concerned with someone in Asia having speedy access.

But what if you chose a host that was in the Netherlands or Germany, would it make that much difference to speed for those in the UK or affect SEO that much?