Crypto Mining - Questions from someone who is not looking to mine, rather understand the theory

YmpkerYmpker OGContent Writer

First of all: Not looking to mine, just curious in general.

I am, among other things, invested in crypto. Due to this, I am also interested in learning more about what I am actually invested in. As such, mining is one of the topics I understand is important to know, as mining efficiency and interest can (probably) be an indicator as to how successful/bright the future of certain coins can look like. In general, it seems mining has become more and more unpopular and I have read many times that it is not worth it anymore. This would probably also have an influence on crypto in general as less miners would likely equate to a shortage of processing power to generate more coins, right? Again, I am a beginner in this field.