complete novice in Windows 2012 server

Hello everyone,

During the BF week, I saw a very good deal for a windows vps with 2CPU - 8GB RAM - 50GB SSD - 10TB Bandwidth at $60/year. Bought it on impulse - don't really need it but it is working very well.

Not sure if I would renew it next year but since it has been paid already, I hope to learn as much as possible before it expires.

Googled some info regarding how to keep the vps safe - they all recommend changing the default rdp port + limiting accepted IP via remote connection.

Aside from this, would you guys be generous to throw in more ideas? Many thanks for reading and input.

Comments

• InceptionHostingInceptionHosting Hosting ProviderOG

Well if all else fails, nothing forced you to keep it on windows.

I would have to ask why 2012 server though it is 9 years+ old at this point, CentOS 5 was still mainstream at that point.

https://inceptionhosting.com
    Please do not use the PM system here for Inception Hosting support issues.

• @AnthonySmith said:
    Well if all else fails, nothing forced you to keep it on windows.

I would have to ask why 2012 server though it is 9 years+ old at this point, CentOS 5 was still mainstream at that point.

Thanks for your input.

Well.... It was just because I would have nothing to host in a linux environment with so much resource and therefore decided to try how it is like to operate Windows Server and learn from it. (a 1GB Ram , 10GB storage would basically fit what I want if Linux)

As for why win2012, guess it was because most of the info/tutorial I found is for this particular version? Again, I am completely novice so I might have missed many other parts of concerns.

• Change RDP port + some firewall rules and you should be fine.

If you're paranoid, shut it down when you're not using it and power it on when needed :joy:

Thanked by (1)saibal

For domain registrations, create an account at Dynadot (ref) and spend $9.99 within 48 hours to receive $5 DynaDollars!